Have You Been Charged With A DUI?

If you have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in the state of Georgia, you may be facing jail time and costly fines, as well as the loss of your driving privileges. You should contact a lawyer to handle your defense as soon as possible.

BRE Law, LLC, is prepared to investigate and review your case to help you determine your best options for a resolution. Part of our team includes an expert who is a Drug Recognition Expert (DRE), NHTSA certified and SFTS and DUI certified, which allows us to sort out complex DUI/DWI cases.

The Two Types Of Drunk Driving Laws In Georgia

Georgia DUI laws allow for drivers to be charged with a DUI-less-safe or a DUI per se. If you have been charged with a DUI-less-safe, it means that you are suspected of being less safe to drive due to the influence of alcohol or drugs. This charge does not require or depend on the results of a sobriety test.

If you are charged with a DUI per se, it means that your Breathalyzer results show a blood alcohol content (BAC) higher than the legal limit of .08.

To have your case investigated and your sobriety test results examined, you should consult with an attorney.

The Consequences Of A DUI Conviction Are Harsh

A first-time DUI offense is treated as a misdemeanor, but due to Georgia's strict DUI laws, a judge has the ability to sentence a first-time offender to 12 months in jail. The minimum penalties for a first-time offense include:

  • 24 hours in jail
  • A $300 fine that can double depending on surcharges
  • A 20-hour safety course that costs approximately $400
  • Your license suspended for up to a year
  • Clinical evaluation
  • 40 hours of community service

The minimum penalties for a second offense include:

  • Three days in jail
  • $600 in fines that can double depending on surcharges
  • License suspension for three years
  • Ignition interlock device (at the discretion of the court)

The penalties continue to increase in severity as more offenses appear on a criminal record. A skilled attorney can help to diminish these penalties or, whenever possible, keep your record clean by having your charges dismissed.

Schedule A Consultation

Our lead attorney, Barbara Evans, will aggressively present your DUI defense in the courtroom so that you can get behind the wheel again. Contact us by using this online contact form or by calling our office at 678-369-0535.

We serve Duluth, Atlanta and the areas surrounding Gwinnett County.