A Drug Violation In Georgia Has Harsh Consequences
Many drug violations are treated as felonies and punishable to the fullest extent of the law in Georgia. A conviction can negatively impact your career opportunities. In addition, first-time offenses include a mandatory six-month suspension of your driver’s license if convicted of driving while under the influence. To protect your rights, you should consult with a lawyer as soon as possible.
Attorney Evans will aggressively represent you in your defense. Depending on the specifics of your case, she will argue to have your charges dropped, argue for a pretrial diversion or fight for a plea deal to have the charges reduced.
Different Types Of Drug Violations
Georgia law is strict on the possession of controlled substances. These drugs are classified by five schedules that include their own consequences if you are convicted.
Schedule I drugs are drugs not accepted for medical use and that have a high potential risk for abuse. Examples include LSD and heroin.
Some Schedule II drugs have been accepted for restricted and limited medical use but they all have a high potential risk for abuse and psychological or physical dependency. These drugs include hydrocodone, fentanyl, OxyContin and methamphetamine.
The potential consequences for a conviction of a Schedule I or Schedule II will result in two to 15 years in prison, which is the same for nonnarcotic Schedule II drugs. However, if you are convicted for another possession of a Schedule II drug, the minimum sentencing changes to five years in prison.
Schedule III and Schedule IV drugs have a lower chance of abuse but can still be psychologically and physically addicting, examples include steroids, testosterone, Xanax, Ambien and Tramadol.
Schedule V drugs have the lowest potential for abuse and limited potential of dependency, examples include Robitussin and Lyrica.
The consequences of a conviction for possession of a Schedule III, IV or V drug are one to five years’ imprisonment.
Special Laws For A Marijuana Possession Charge
Although marijuana is classified as a Schedule I drug, there are special laws and consequences for possession due to the changing attitudes toward the drug. If you are suspected of being in possession of marijuana and the possession is less than an ounce, it is treated as a misdemeanor in Georgia.
The consequences of a conviction include no more than 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Depending upon which county the offense was committed in, this may be less or cited as an ordinance violation.
However, if you are suspected of possession of more than one ounce of marijuana, it is treated as a felony. The consequences of a felony conviction for the possession of more than an ounce of marijuana are one to 10 years’ imprisonment.
Contact Our Office
Our office is in Duluth. We work throughout Gwinnett County and the surrounding areas.